Fish Out of Water

Posted on March 5, 2010

2


I’m not one to rub it in that I found a job, but WOO HOO! I did it!

I put in a call on Thursday, was asked to come in and fill out an application on Friday morning, maybe a quick interview. I came in on Friday, all gussied up, which I hadn’t done in I don’t know how long. Ya know, the nice shirt, the black slacks, the shoes that are uncomfortable if worn for more than 8 hours which I used to do. The jewelry too, but tasteful. I had my gold threaders in, my “love knot” diamond necklace that Hojo had given me for our 1 year anniversary, and my white gold and sapphire “promise” ring. It was the tail end of the snow storm stupidity, so I had my wool coat on – from Gramma – with the… shoulder pads. Yeah, I know. The 80s are comin’ back. Sheddup.

I left that morning after the application an interview feeling good. I had mentioned my social networking gig with my cousin. The doctor, who interviewed me, offered their internet service between shifts. How cool! Already!?

I had gone to Columbus the next day to attempt to take the practice GRE. Didn’t happen. Got the wrong building and not enough time to go clear across campus. I drove back home, disappointed, but kind of glad I got out of the house. I was on the last stretch home when I got a call. I recognized the number. OMG! No way!

“Hello?” I had answered calmly. The doctor offered me the job! I about melted right there in my seat.

Since then, I have worked Wednesday, Friday, Saturday, and every day this week except Thursday too. I love being back into a routine. I will stay true to myself and state that I dislike mornings with a passion. However, it’s been much less difficult pulling myself out of bed for this job than any other!

I have to say, I have felt like a fish out of water. I’ve been used to intermittent routines and unreliable pay schedules for over a year now. The last job I had, no one was straight with me about what was going on and I was promised that – well, the proposed internship that fell through isn’t important. What is important is that I have this steady job with a business that has been around for 20 years. It is established. It is successful.

Oh, but the point about feeling like a fish out of water. I ramble when I feel nervous. I’ve rambled at work. I think I get red in the face but I’m not sure about that. I’m sure if there were a mirror within range, I’d duck. So, I babble and feel a little displaced until I do something productive. Then all is right in my world again.

I just don’t want to allow this one to slip through my fingers. I’ve had quite a bit of that.

But, I supposed my resume, my references, my charm *cough cough*, and my appearance put it all together. Along with a good splash of mercy.

To all my friends who are in limbo like I’ve been, and still kind of am in my own quirky way, I wish you much success. It’s so hard out there and with so little dough to go around, it’s hard to look and feel your best for an interview.

For now, I’ll bask in the glory of an interview that apparently went right.

Tagged: , , ,