Rockin’ Sydney & Krackaw’s Shoes

Posted on April 11, 2010

3


Ooooo wow! A friend has found some significance with this song and posted it regarding a friend of his, performed by a different artist, John Fogerty. But for me, “My Toot Toot” by Rockin’ Sydney (1985) strikes a highly sensitive chord. I would have been 2 years old when this show was shot.

I was thrilled to find the video on YouTube about three years ago, give or take. I had never seen the song performed. I showed it to my mom and grandmother. They were in tears.

My grandparents have had a stereo system in the living room for years. My grandpa, “Krackaw”, as we called him (coined by cousin Jennifer), would have me stand on his shoes, maybe from the time this was recorded, and he would dance around with me to this song. Those memories are positively the best and earliest ones I have of him.

Gran Torino came out not terribly long ago. Clint Eastwood’s character is a crotchety old man who doesn’t necessarily hate his Chinese neighbors but finds them to be nuisances. Especially since they were – well, various epitaphs that I’ll not repeat – and he was a Korean War Veteran. My grandpa was one to throw out li’l zingers, most funny, some not. Throughout the movie, (spoiler) Eastwood’s character opens up to his neighbors, and I could see such moving similarities between Eastwood’s character *seriously verklempt here* and my grandpa. My Aunt Lynne, the eldest sibling/daughter even said that she could see Krackaw pulling a stunt like he did at the end – don’t worry, no ending spoiler.

Let’s just say, I couldn’t watch the movie the last time Hojo put it in the DVD player.

R.I.P. – Paul Eugene Lieber, November 28, 2001

