Concaved Dreams

Posted on April 20, 2010

2


I have a lot of things on my mind. I have decided that two of those things deserve my attention. This is one of them. I can’t sleep well.

I have been sleeping a lot better since I started my job. It’s wonderfully forced me into a better routine and sleep schedule. I’m also more consistent on days off because I still get up at a reasonable time to tutor at the campus. That, however, does not stop my aches and such.

It all started when my mother and grandmother went to a mattress store to browse for beds for my mother. Right off the bat, just because it’s the two of them together, it’s going to be an arduous process. Eventually, they made a purchase. The mattress store delivered a box spring and mattress to my mother’s apartment/house. My mother immediately noticed that there was something wrong with the mattress. Definitely wrong. It was concaved in the center and the stitching was a little sloppy.

This would tell me as a consumer that there is something seriously wrong with the mattress. My mother went back to the mattress store owner and requested that a different one be delivered.

After a total of 5 deliveries (don’t ask), my mother ended up with the same mattress that she had received in the first place. I don’t know if there was a mix up or what, but she should not have ended up with that concaved mattress. Even one of the delivery guys, Nathan Flowers, whom I had gone to school with noticed the faults in the mattress.

My mom became very frustrated with the situation. Like anyone else, she hates having to return things. I hate returning things. It’s just a hassle. So, the box spring and  mattress ended up in my mom’s tiny living room, up against the wall. My mom has since continued to use her previous box spring and mattress.

I moved up to Mount Vernon back in June of 2009. It just turned out to be an extremely convenient situation. I had graduated with my BA in Psychology, my volunteer gig was finished, and I was jobless.

My boyfriend and I attempted to get my queen-sized box spring up the spiral staircase at the house, but there was no possible way. It wouldn’t fit through the upstairs windows either. Taking out the window frames didn’t seem like a wonderful option either.

I opted to take the only other available solution, the full-sized concaved bed that was sitting, unused in my mother’s living room. How bad could it be, right? Horrible. Absolutely the worst bed I have ever slept on. But what can one do when one can’t even pay the rent? It’s not too likely that I’d even be going online to craigslist or something like that, because who the heck knows what you’ll end up getting?! Bed with bugs? No thank you.

So, since June 2009, I have been waking up with my hips and back completely out of whack. I have never had to do that ‘lay down and twist’ to get my back to feel better so often in my life!

The biggest thing that messed me up was falling into the depression that I did right after moving and graduation. I didn’t know what to do with myself. I had a ridiculous amount of free time and I slept a good chuck of it away. I attempted a volunteer gig at a local non-profit, but no one got back with me. 😦 (I’ve since attempted that again, but still haven’t gotten any correspondence.)

I really don’t know what to do at this point other than to say, “will someone, anyone, buy this bed?” Or, at least, “will someone, anyone haul this bed away?!” My mom is still paralyzed with inaction; the situation with the owner of the mattress store get blown waaaaay out of proportion by one party or the other. I don’t know which.

I’m miserable.

But, like I said, my new schedule with my new job and taking something to get my immune system back in check and my thyroid and adrenals as well has been nothing less than a God-send. Despite this wonderful circumstance that God has given me, I still wake up with a crick in my neck, and my lower back feels dreadful on many days.

In the meantime, I’ll try to save a little cashola to get a new mattress. The box spring is just fine, but I just can’t bear to sleep on the torture device much longer.

If any of you are wondering what mattress store I’m talking about, email me or find me on Facebook. I don’t want any of you to have to go through this concaved crap that I have.

Posted in: Health, Rambling