Sex Ed, too soon?

Posted on July 15, 2010

0


NBC4 had posted an article on Facebook regarding a board meeting in Helena, Montana, Loud and Clear. It’s about a debate on whether the city should begin a health curriculum which will teach many helpful things about health in general, but there’s more. But first, I’m feeling a Youtube moment:

Granted, this li’l guy’s dad is a gynecologist. But if he can say that in the middle of a kindergarten class, other kids can too. Especially if they’ve seen this movie. They don’t really know what it means for a boy or a girl to have those parts. But it’s facts.

What about the scene in “Look Who’s Talking Too” when Mollie is giving Julie a bath and Mikey asks why his little sister doesn’t have the same parts. Mikey was barely in preschool when he’s asking. Mollie, calmly, goes through a list various famous people, I think from a magazine, and asks if they would have one or the other. Mikey exuberantly exclaims which each of those famous people would have. Easy, right? Little Mikey doesn’t need to know why he or she would have what they do. Not yet.

NBC4i had said:

A town in Montana is in an uproar about a plan to begin “sex education” in kindergarten. Kindergarteners would be taught proper anatomical terms, first graders would learn sexual relations could happen between same sex couples, and fifth graders would learn the various ways people can have intercourse. What do you think? Are these topics too mature for these age groups, or should it be taught early?

My comment on the thread was as follows:

It’s a little… okay, very early. But, think about it. If a little girl in 1939 at the age of ***5 years old*** (BEFORE KINDERGARTEN), in Peru is capable of becoming pregnant against her will…. I think children should AT LEAST know the proper names for body parts. Look it up on snopes.com if you think it’s fake. Children after all, are frequently victims of sexually related crimes and frankly, I think that children should know the proper names so that there’s no time wasted in trying to decipher kid-code. My mom wasn’t taught about the proper birds and bees and she went through HELL. My mom DID teach me, and I am 26, a college grad, straight, no children (I am NOT irresponsibly populating the earth), and I’m just fine with that.

The part in bold and italics is what was shown on NBC News… yes, ON TV! Woo hoo! I wish I had seen it. My friend told me about it on Facebook earlier today.

Just to clarify, the reason why I said “I am NOT irresponsibly populating the earth” is because I recognize, and I have for a long time, that I have no business having children. I have some inkling of what it would take, but I don’t have a full grasp, and I won’t until it happens. I don’t have the finances for it, I have not obtained the Ph.D that I want, and a load of other things that disqualify me from parenthood at this point in my life. And the reason I said I’m “straight” is, well, because I am. No other reason.

Well, did you have a sex ed class? You may ask. I experienced a sex ed class in 5th grade at John Clem Elementary. For part of it, the boys and girls were in the class room together and another part, boys and girls were separated. There was lots of giggling. Thank you Mrs. Grindrod. I think there was another sex ed class in middle school, but I don’t remember it. And in 9th grade, Mr. Quackenbush, the NHS coach taught a health class and had to show us slides of various infectious STDs as well as end results of removal or treatment procedures. The slides scared the living snot out of me. For some odd reason, it did not deter many of my classmates from doin’ what they do, and/or getting pregnant. There was even a speaker one year, a young woman, who, I think presented a similar program, but added that abstinence was the way to go. The phrase I remember is: “No ringy, no dingy.” If there’s an entire program and classroom dedicated to teenage parents on campus… I think there’s still a PROBLEM. I’m grateful for the ‘education’ that I received. I’m STD/STI-free, never been pregnant, and I don’t regret it.

So, what do you think? Would you pull your children out of the school district if they decided to start teaching a comprehensive sex ed program? Do you think it should be the parents’ responsibility and schools should butt-out? Do you wish your school had had that kind of program when you were in school?

Posted in: Everyday Life