Theme Songs…

Posted on July 25, 2010

0


I think everyone has a theme song for the day, overall, or an ongoing soundtrack. It happens whether you know it or not. A friend, Michelle Brooks, had posted a status:

“wants to know; if your life had a sound track, what song would have been playing so far today?”

My response was, at that moment:

“‘Drive’ by Incubus. Yup, most definitely. It plays on my iPod just when I think I’m on the verge of a breakdown. Every time.”

It seems life gives us songs that are meant to lift us up, help us empathize or sympathize, lament with us, or make a party just that much better.

Today, my songs had to have been:

“Good Mornin'” (1952) music by Nacio Herb Brown; lyrics by Arthur Freed; featured on “Singin’ In the Rain with Gene Kelly (as Don Lockwood), Debbie Reynolds (as Kathy Selden),  Donald O’Connor (as Cosmo Brown) and Jean Hagen (as Linda Lamont, screech!) – because I couldn’t sleep until the wee hours of the morning. It was horribly stinkin’ hot in the house and we hadn’t turned on the AC yet evening though it was excruciatingly hot with high humidity (just like it was all day).

“Working for the Weekend” (1981) by Loverboy on their 2nd album, Get Lucky. I went to work today for a couple of hours. I think of this song too when I get a call from my dad because he’s always… workin’ for the weekend.

“Too Darn Hot” (1948) by Cole Porter, sung by Ella Fitzgerald, the lady with perfect pitch. I found my CD of Ella Fitzgerald singing Cole Porter classics just before my family reunion earlier this month. I was so stoked. This song is completely appropriate for this weird, sweltering hot weather that wouldn’t be so bad if I had a pool in the back yard. I was supposed to go with some friends of mine to Dawes Arboretum today… but I bailed out because of a major lack of moo-lah and… well, I was about to just jump back in the shower and crank the cold water.

“Drive” by Incubus. It hit the top of the modern rock back charts by March 3, 2001 (jeez, that was a minute ago). The lyrics hit home whenever I feel a li’l beyond stressed out. I found out that I had missed my student loan payment due date. 😦 EEEEK! Given that I’d only gotten perhaps 3 or 4 hours of sleep the night previously, my hairpins were making their way out of my hair claw.

“I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead” by Bon Jovi, 4th single off the 1992 album, Keep The Faith. Let’s just say, I was feeling a little dead for at least 2 1/2 hours.

“Fast Car” (1988) by Tracy Chapman. My family has been dealing with an interesting things. My family is finally coming to an agreement that things need to get taken care of, regarding my grandmother. She’s a tad older, and could really use the unconditional care of her family these days. She’s a freakin’ spitfire, but things take this spunky “should be in her 50s for how lively she is” woman for a loop once in a while. That song however, evolves into, “Young At Heart” (1953) music by Johnny Richards, lyrics by Carolyn Leigh. She’s always been young, laughed young, loved young.

“Two Pina Coladas” (1998) released by Garth Brooks on his album Sevens. I broke out the ice shaver tonight.

So… I shall leave ya’ll with that. What have your theme songs been today?

*Most information was found on Wikipedia.

Posted in: Music, Rambling