Remembering 9/11…

Posted on September 11, 2010

0


The tragic events of 9/11 occurred early in the morning. I was at school with, give or take, 2,500 students at Newark High School. The first plane crashed during my first class of the day.

Soon, my classmates and I switched to home room (formerly called AA… I dunno who dreamed up that one during a cocktail). Mr. Donovan allowed us to watch the television. I don’t think we saw the first one actually crash. I think we did, however, see the second one crash.

Some of the girls cried. I felt a bit in shock, but it wasn’t something that I could cry about. I knew for a fact that people were dying in those buildings and the planes. I knew that the numbers were going to be disgusting. I didn’t know the cause – I just knew the effect.

The guys were angry. Patriotism set in and several young men and women prepared their psyche for the military upon graduation – or thereafter. Some joined the military for the education and career opportunity. Others joined for the challenge and for the fight. Some joined the military because they thought they didn’t have anything else going for them. Despite the longevity of the ‘war’, our troops are coming home 9 years later.

A half-wit pastor in Florida threatened to burn a Quran on 9/11 but called it off after his form of protest against the soon-to-be mosque near Ground Zero was advised against by such prominent figures as the POTUS and Hillary Clinton, Secretary of State.

Peace and tolerance is the goal, but it’s a realistic? Psychology and science has proven time and time again that human instinct is to develop prejudgments for survival. Are we still close enough to our primitive roots that this is true? Are we also advanced enough from these primitive roots to adapt those prejudgments to be subject to rational thought and peaceful sense? Let’s hope so.

9 years later, I send my condolenscences to the mothers, fathers, sisters, brothers, aunts, uncles, cousins, best friends, and lovers of those who died in a freak occurrence that ended thousands of lives and changed millions more.

We can lift ourselves out of ignorance, we can find ourselves as creatures of excellence and intelligence and skill. – Jonathan Livingston Seagull

Don’t believe what your eyes are telling you. All they show is limitation. Look with your understanding. – Jonathan Livingston Seagull

Posted in: Inspiration