Merry X-mas!

Posted on November 30, 2010

0


Christmas or X-mas? I’ve heard complaint that the “X” takes Christ out of ‘Christmas’ a lot over the years. I would like to state: I don’t see anything wrong with the abbreviation so long as folks actually know why the abbreviation is somewhat appropriate and closer to the original Greek than our befuddling English. I say “somewhat” because, this whole thing is somewhat subjective, but dictionarily and biblically okie dokie.

XA – Chi Alpha

A li’l bit of an aside: I was in a bible study group called Presbyterian Student Fellowship, sponsored by a local Presbyterian church when I first moved out on my own. The group eventually decided on a name for advertisement on campus: XA or Chi Alpha. Heh, truly, I say unto you, I just found out that it’s a huuuuuge thing all across campuses in the USA. http://www.chialpha.com/

Wikipedia, despite being labeled a disreputable source by colleges all over the world, states that:

The “-mas” part is from the Latin-derived Old English word for “mass“,[1] while the “X” comes from the Greek letter Chi, which is the first letter of the Greek word Χριστός, translated as “Christ”. – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xmas

Ta-da! Problem solved!

Another thing that I found out which makes me chuckle is the whole controversy over upside-down crosses. On one hand, the deliberate representation of an inverted cross to flaunt anti-religion or favoring Satanism is contrary to Christian representation. However, according to various sources that are easy to find by googling, state that Peter requested to be crucified upside-down. He believed he was not worthy of being crucified the same way that Christ had been. In a sense, ‘St. Peter’s Cross’ is more respectful, I suppose.

So…… ready for it?…….

MERRY XMAS!!!!

