Wal-Fart

Posted on August 5, 2011

0


I had, quite possibly, the worst — no, stupidest experience at Wal-Mart on Tuesday night. I had gotten off work a little early (10:30) because I just couldn’t sit there any longer and properly concentrate. I had slightly suspected that Howard was at home that night, but I wasn’t sure. I drove up to Wal-Mart up here in MtV while talking to my mom. She recommended some eyedrops and I wanted to get some other stuff as well. When I finally got there, I entered the sliding glass doors and amidst the noise of the air conditioner up above, I told my mom I was likely going to lose my signal.

I meandered around gathering a few things that I was thinking about at the time and put it in a basket on my arm. Then, I walked up to the only lane available to check out, the cigarette lane. The girl at the register was chatting a woman. There were a couple of guys next in line with a movie to buy. Next was me, and then about a minute later, another woman got in line behind me with a quarter of a cartful of groceries. The girl at the register keeps chatting with the woman at the front of the line. To me, it looked like their transaction was done and they was just still gabbing. Neither the Wal-Mart employee nor the customer said a word to the rest of us.

You know you want to buy one....Thank you Zazzle.com.

I start tapping my foot a little. I look around for another lane. Nothing.

Thinking that the lady behind me is getting a little frustrated as well, I look back and she shrugs and says “so what are we doin’ here? Just bullsh!ttin’?” I say, ” I dunno what’s going on.”

The girl at the register and the customer are in this indepth ‘he said, she said’ conversation. Finally, I lift the basket from my arm and said rather loudly, “Welp, I guess I really don’t need anything.”

I head toward the Customer Service department because that was just a little frustrating. Two customer service representatives, one after the other, walk straight past me and to the register. I turn around and look behind me. The customer says, “That’s right, I’m the one causing trouble.”

Granted, she did not look like someone who is ignorant. But, that was just plain rude that the girl at the register never said a thing to the rest of us. Nothing to imply that they were waiting on assistance.

So, I shrug my shoulders and walk out. I would just love to know what the woman who was behind me with her cart had to say to the girl at the register.

I won’t be going back to that Wal-Mart ever again. Everything that I actually would want can be found at Pat Catan’s across the street, Kroger, Odd Lots and other various mom-n-pop shops. I’ve never had an ounce of trouble at any other store.

My conclusion:

Wal-Mart is evil. I had a dream several years ago. I was in what seemed to be K-Mart that used to be located where Big Lots is now on Deo Drive in Newark, Ohio. Everything on the shelfs was very nice and the store looked well kept. Suddenly, all around me, everything the store began to deteriorate. The roof began to shudder and I zipped my butt right out the door. Right in front of K-Mart the parking lot was in tatters; there were pot holes, craggy asphalt. The parking lot was divided and there was police tape from one end of the parking lot to the other. On the other side of the police tape, the parking lot was smooth, with fresh lines. On the far side, there stood a newly built Wal-Mart. Inside, my gut just felt rancid and the air was ominous. Never again shall I step foot in a Wal-Mart.

