Facebook Privacy Settings

Posted on October 13, 2013

0


Hello Fellow Facebookers!

There is a post that is going around. That posts asks your Facebook friends to do something. I will share what this something is:

Image

If you were one of the many who has posted this, and you’re reading this, I’m not singling you out!

Now, realistically, how in the world can a person with ANY Facebook friends count on them ALL to actually do this? I certainly cannot with 826 friends (now don’t go unfriending me).

It’s a waste of Re-Posting time and an unrealistic expectation even if you did not expect a drastic end result.

So, let me tell you how you can avoid this post and just take care of the dang thing yourself.

Please note: the rest of the pictures in the post may cut off some details, so please feel free to click the picture in the post to see what is in edge of the picture, like “edit”, “close”, etc.

1. Click the little gear/sprocket:

Image

2. Click the Privacy Settings

Image

3. Get overwhelmed by all the options

Image

4. Breathe into a brown paper bag

5. Start with who can see your “stuff”

Image

  • Click Edit and make your change

Image

  •  *Grin* because you took the first step to become a self-sufficient Facebook user
  •  Ignore this section unless you were drunkenly Facebooking last night

Image

  • Feeling extra paranoid? Fiddle with setting

Image

6. Got a Facebook stalker? Click Edit and make that creep get over you

Image

  • There should be a “NO ONE” option

Image

  • I have no idea what this one is really about, but it’s on the strict setting and hasn’t bothered me one bit

Image

7. This one is super important. Get picky.

Image

  • Choose friends. Friends of friends don’t matter

Image

  • Again, friends

Image

  • This one looks complicated, right? Why? Because some snake oil salesman got in someone’s head at Facebook and told them to make it tricky (just kidding). Do NOT check the dang box.

Image

8. 9. and 10. Now that you have made your Privacy Settings more secure, you can move on to the Timeline and Tagging section. I’m not going to bullet point all those out, but you are welcome to mimic my settings.

Image

11. It’s okay to get “block happy”. No one else can actually see that you have blocked him/her. They’ll just get the subtle hint when they stop seeing stuff you post and they can’t see your Profile anymore. If you regret the decision, go back to the Blocking section and unblock the person. But, don’t be a doormat. If the person doesn’t deserve to see what you’re up to, make the wise decision and keep him/her blocked. There’s a difference between “blocking” and “unfriending” though. Unfriending just means that if your settings look anything like mine, that person can’t Facebook-stalk you. “Blocking” means that he or she cannot harass you via Direct Messages or through friends of friends.

Image

12. Annoyed by all the notifications? Fiddle with this until you’re happy. But, don’t blame me if you mess something up. Uninstall and reinstall if you’re mobile.

Image

  • Extra annoyed by one particular person, but you don’t want to unfriend or block him/her? Switch around these settings on that person’s profile page. Recommended: switch to Only Important and uncheck all the types of updates. Passive aggressive or setting boundaries? You decide.

Image

13. You’re welcome.

Advertisements
Posted in: Everyday Life